A Tennessee Smoky Mountain Wedding Ceremony is easy!
How to get your marriage license in Tennessee
Getting married in Tennessee is surprisingly easy. There is no waiting period. A Tennessee marriage license can be obtained in person from any of the County Clerk's Marriage License Centers.
Combine the beautiful natural settings of the Smoky Mountains with the relatively minor requirements for getting married and you understand why a Smoky
Mountain wedding and honeymoon is second in popularity only to Las Vegas.
you are a Tennessee Resident, you will
now pay $98.50 for a Marriage License.
You may attend a 4 (four) hour premarital
preparation course and present us the certificate
of completion to waive the $60.00 fee accessed
for not taking this course.
Non-Tennessee Residents getting married
in Sevier County will pay $38.50. We
have been fortunate to be categorized in
a tourism zone that allows us to offer this
special lowered rate.
either you or your spouse has a Tennessee
Drivers License you will be charged $98.50.
Obtaining a Tennessee Marriage License in Sevier County
- A blood test is not required and applicants need not be residents of Sevier County to wed there.
- Both parties must be present to obtain the marriage license
from the County Clerk's Marriage License Centers (see below).
- Proof of age is required by a valid driver's license; if applicants do not have a driver's license, they may use a state-issued I.D., a valid passport or certified birth certificate.
- If you have been divorced or widowed, you must know the exact date that event became final.
- If applicants are under the age of 18, both parents or legal guardians must sign the marriage certificate.
- You do not have to be a resident of Sevier County to be married here.
- The County Clerk will only take cash in the exact amount.
November 1st Visa and Mastercard will
- Couples may also bring a valid Tennessee marriage license from anywhere in the state of Tennessee, but remember that the license is only valid for 30 days after issue.
- A Tennessee Marriage license costs $45.00 and may be used anywhere in the state of Tennessee. Tennessee residents must pay $105.00 unless they take a 4-hour course. (Click here to learn how to save $30.00 and meet the requirements of this course in the convenience of your own home.)
A few things to remember before
to one of the Sevier Co Clerk's
the Bride and Groom Must be 18 years
old. (Circumstances where one or
both persons are under 18 (minors) may
call our office for detailed rules under
which marriage is allowed)
the Bride and Groom must have either
a valid drivers license or birth certificate.
you are not a citizen of the
United States, please bring your
married persons must know the approximate
date their divorce became official,
or the approximate date of a spouse's
are no waiting periods or blood
may get married the same day as your license is issued
- You may obtain your license up to 30 days before your wedding date. (Your License is only valid 30 days)
- Both the Bride and Groom must be present to obtain a License.
Marriage License Centers in Sevier County,
Gatlinburg Shilling Center
Reagan Drive, Gatlinburg
Monday and Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Eastern Time
Wednesday from 8:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m. Eastern Time
Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Eastern
PIGEON FORGE, TN
Pigeon Forge City Hall
Pine Mountain Road, Pigeon Forge
Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Eastern Time
Sevier County Courthouse
Court Avenue, Sevierville
Monday--Thursday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Eastern Time
Friday, 8 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.